Committee details

Purpose of committee


Each Devon County Councillor has an allocation of £5,000 per year to enable them to respond to local needs in their divisions, supporting projects or activities that benefit the communities they represent.


There are eight Locality Committees, (link to Committee membership*below) representing the eight district areas of Devon.  All Devon County Councillors sit on these Committees.


County Committees discuss specific service and community issues and projects within each district, and make recommendations to the Council’s Cabinet.  They encourage access by the public to the council and its services, and monitor the Council’s performance in delivering local public services.  They also encourage close working between Devon’s County, City, District and Borough Councils.


Contact information

Support officer: Fred Whitehouse, 01392 381362. Email: