

Phil Norrey Chief Executive

To: The Chairman and Members of the

Devon Education Forum

County Hall Topsham Road Exeter Devon EX2 4QD

(See below)

Your ref: My ref: Date: Please ask for: 10 March 2016 Mrs F Rutlev Phone: 01392 382305 Fax: 01392 382286 e-mail: schools.forum@devon.gov.uk

DEVON EDUCATION FORUM

Wednesday, 16 March 2016

A meeting of the Devon Education Forum will be held on the above date at **10am at County Hall**, **Exeter** to consider the following matters.

Please note meeting on Monday (instead of normal Wednesday meetings)

P NORREY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The meeting will be followed by a light buffet lunch. It would be helpful if members were to confirm their attendance

AGENDA

PART I - OPEN COMMITTEE

- 1. Apologies
- 2. <u>Minutes</u> of the meeting held on 18 January 2016 attached (Page 1).
- 3. <u>Items Requiring Urgent Attention</u>

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as matters of urgency.

4. Matters Arising from the Last Meeting and Report back on Issues Raised with Cabinet

To consider any matters arising from the last meeting where not otherwise covered on this agenda and to report on items considered at the Cabinet.

A: SPECIFIC AGENDA ITEMS

ITEMS FOR DECISION

10.10am

5. Finance Update

Report of the Head of Education & Learning and County Treasurer (DEF/16/03) (Page 6)

ITEMS FOR DEBATE AND INFORMATION

11.00am

6. Head of Service : Update

Head of Education & Learning to report

11.20 am

7. Use of Egress Switch in Schools

Head of Business Strategy and Support to report

B: STANDARD AGENDA ITEMS

ITEMS FOR DEBATE AND INFORMATION

11. 50 am

- 8. <u>Standing (and other) Groups</u>
 - (a) To review action for the Forum from its groups and to receive minutes:-
 - (i) Schools' Finance Group

Minutes of the meetings held on 2 March 2016, attached (Page 65).

Also available at

http://www.devon.gov.uk/index/learningschools/schoolsforum/schoolsfundinggroup.htm

(ii) Schools Organisation, Capital and Admissions Forum

Minutes of the meeting held on 23 February 2016, attached (Page 69) Also available at

http://www.devon.gov.uk/index/learningschools/schoolsforum/soca.htm

10. <u>Dates of Future Meetings 2016/17</u>

Wed 22 June 2016 Wed 19 October 2016 Monday 16 January 2017 Wed 15 March 2017

11.30am

CLOSE

VOTING (see below)

FAILED AMENDMENTS AND VOTING FIGURES MAY BE RECORDED WHERE REQUESTED BY AN ASSOCIATION OR SINGLE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE (for contentious issues)

Voting Representatives are Schools, Academies and Non-Schools Members, excepting Regulations restrict the voting arrangements by only allowing Schools and Academy members and the PVI private, voluntary and independent sector early years to vote on the funding formula. Additionally for de-delegation matters only the relevant maintained schools members may vote (primary and secondary, vote by phase). In relation to the scheme for financing schools all maintained schools members may vote (all phases).

Coloured voting cards for restricted voting:-Schools members (maintained) primary - gold Schools members (maintained) secondary - beige Academies (mainstream and alternative provision) - blue Special Schools, Nursery Schools – pink PVI - orange

FORMAL OBSERVERS, ATTENDEES AND ANY SUBSTITUTE MEMBER ATTENDING IN ADDITION TO THEIR RESPECTIVE FULL MEMBER ARE EXEMPT FROM VOTING

MEMBERS ARE REQUESTED TO SIGN THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The Devon Education Forum web is www.devon.gov.uk/schoolsforum
The proceedings of this meeting may be recorded for broadcasting live on the internet via the Devon Education Forum's website. The whole of the meeting may be broadcast apart from any confidential items which may need to be considered in the absence of the press and public.

For information on travelling to County Hall please see http://www.devon.gov.uk/travelling-to-countyhall.htm

Devon Education Forum Membership

Schools and Academies Members (20) (minimum 2/3 membership)

<u>Primary Headteachers</u> (Devon Association of Primary Headteachers (DAPH)) <u>Schools Members</u> (3)

Mr A Dobson (Marwood), Mr J Stone (Denbury), Mr P Walker (Sidmouth CE) (Substitutes: Mrs C Boother (Hatherleigh), Mrs J Evans (Exeter St Leonard's CE)).

Primary Academy Member (1)

Mr J Bishop (Broadclyst)

(Substitute Primary Academy Member: Mrs J Baker (Primary Academies Trust).

Primary Governors (Devon Association of Governors (DAG))

Schools Members (4)

Mrs Amanda Blewett (Kings Nympton), Mr M Dobbins (Exmouth, Marpool), Mrs P Furnival (Ivybridge, Woodlands Park), Mrs M Wallis (Whimple). (Substitute: - Ms D Fontana, Exmouth Exeter Road).

<u>Secondary Headteachers</u> (Devon Association of Secondary Heads (DASH) <u>Schools Members</u> (2)

Mr D Chapman (Okehampton CC), vacancy (Substitute: Mr D Fitzsimmons (Holsworthy CC),

Secondary Academy Members (2)

Mr R Haring (Ivybridge CC), Mr M Shanks (Coombeshead CC) (Substitute Secondary Academy Member: Ms L Heath (Uffculme)).

<u>Secondary School Governors</u> (Devon Association of Governors (DAG)) <u>Schools Members</u> (2)

Mr I Courtney (Okehampton College), Mr A Walmsley (Exeter, St James) (Substitute: -).

Secondary Academy Members (2)

J Elson (Exmouth CC), Mr M Juby (Braunton Academy) (Substitute: Secondary Academy Member: Mr S Baber, Chulmleigh Academy Trust).

Nursery Schools (1)

vacancy

Substitute:

Special School Headteacher (1) (Special Headteachers Association Devon (SHAD))

Ms C May (Pathfield)

<u>Special School Governor</u> (1) (Devon Association of Governors (DAG))

Mrs F Butler (Marland School) (Substitute: Mr J Thorndyke)

<u>Alternative Provision</u> (1) (Special Headteachers Association Devon (SHAD))

Mrs V Skelton (Schools Company North Devon Academy)

Non-Schools Members (4) (maximum 1/3 membership)

Exeter Diocesan Board of Education

Mr P Mantell

Teachers Consultative Committee

Ms B Alderson

Early Years Private, Voluntary and Independent providers

Mrs G Rolstone (Substitute: Mrs M Beresford)

<u> 16-19</u>

Mrs T de Bernhart Dunkin (West England School and College)

Observers & Attendees (non-voting)

Education Funding Agency

Devon County Council

Councillor J McInnes (Cabinet Member – Children, Schools & Skills)

Head of Education & Learning (other LA Officers as required)