

Phil Norrey Chief Executive

To: The Chairman and Members of the

Devon Education Forum

County Hall Topsham Road Exeter Devon EX2 4QD

(See below)

Your ref: My ref: Date: Please ask for: 10 January 2011

Mrs F Rutley

Phone: 01392 382305 Fax: 01392 382286 e-mail: schools.forum@devon.gov.uk

DEVON EDUCATION FORUM

Wednesday 18 January 2012

A meeting of the Devon Education Forum will be held on the above date at **10am at County Hall**, **Exeter** to consider the following matters.

P NORREY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The meeting will be followed by a light buffet lunch. It would be helpful if members were to confirm their attendance

AGENDA

PART I - OPEN COMMITTEE

- 1. Apologies
- 2. <u>Minutes</u> of the meeting held on 7 December 2011 attached (Page 1).
- 3. <u>Items Requiring Urgent Attention</u>

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as matters of urgency.

4. Membership

5. Matters Arising from the Last Meeting and Report back on Issues Raised with Cabinet

To consider any matters arising from the last meeting where not otherwise covered on this agenda and to report on items considered at the Cabinet.

10.10am

6. Head of Education & Learning's Update

Head of Education & Learning to report.

A: SPECIFIC AGENDA ITEMS

ITEMS FOR DECISION

10.25am

7. Annual Budget Consideration – Dedicated Schools Grant (DSG) 2012-13

Joint report of the Head of Education & Learning and County Treasurer (DEF/12/01) attached (Page 9).

ITEMS FOR DEBATE AND INFORMATION

11.25am

8. Performance of Schools – Interim Annual Report by Keystages F-KS5

Draft Interim Annual Report enclosed separately for members of the Forum.

11.35am

9. Devon Education Forum Seminar, 7 December 2011 – Actions and Matters Arising

Chairman to report on seminar. Notes of the seminar attached (Page 21).

B: STANDARD AGENDA ITEMS

ITEMS FOR DEBATE AND INFORMATION

11.45am

- 11. <u>Standing (and other) Groups</u>
 - (a) To review action for the Forum from its groups and to receive minutes:-
 - (i) School Finance Group

Minutes of the meeting held on 4 January 2012, To follow

(ii) School Organisation and Policy Forum

Minutes of the meeting held on 10 January 2012, To follow

(iii) Forum for Learning and Achievement

Minutes of the meeting held on 11 January 2012, To follow

- (b) Representations and progress from various standing and task & finish groups
- (c) Minutes for information
- (i) 14-19 Strategic Leadership Group

Minutes of the meeting held on 28 November 2012, attached (Page 24).

(ii) Local Admissions Forum

no meeting.

- 10. <u>Correspondence</u>
- 11. Dates of Future Meetings
 - (a) The June/July 2012 meeting has been rearranged to <u>Tuesday 10 July 2012</u> following consultation with the Chairman and Spokespersons (due to a clash with the Devon Music Mix):
 - (b) Calendared meetings Meetings to commence at 10am at County Hall, Exeter (unless otherwise indicated)

Wed 18 January 2012

Wed 21 March 2012

Tues 10 July 2012 – revised date (rearranged from Wed 27 June)

Wed 26 September 2012

Wed 21 November 2012 all day - seminar for Forum members only and Forum meeting

Wed 23 January 2013

Wed 20 March 2013.

12 noon CLOSE

VOTING

FAILED AMENDMENTS AND VOTING FIGURES MAY BE RECORDED WHERE REQUESTED BY AN ASSOCIATION OR SINGLE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE (for contentious issues)

VOTING REPRESENTATIVES ARE SCHOOLS AND NON-SCHOOLS MEMBERS
(FORMAL OBSERVERS AND ANY SUBSTITUTE MEMBER ATTENDING IN ADDITION TO THEIR
RESPECTIVE FULL MEMBER ARE EXEMPT FROM VOTING)

MEMBERS ARE REQUESTED TO SIGN THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The Devon Education Forum web is www.devon.gov.uk/schoolsforum

Membership

Schools Members

Primary School Headteachers (5)

Mr M Boxall (Exeter, Montgomery), Mrs H Nicholls (South Brent), Mrs L Wells (Lydford), Mr P Walker (Sidmouth CE Primary)

(Substitutes: Mr A Dobson (Marwood Primary), Mr J Galling (Exmouth, Brixington).

Primary Academy Member: Mrs J Baker (Barnstaple, Orchard Vale), (Substitute Primary Academy Member: Mr P Jones OBE (Blackpool)).

Primary School Governors (5)

Mrs P Barnard (Sandford), Mrs Amanda Blewett (Kings Nympton), Mr R Butler (Axminster), Mr M Dobbins (Exmouth, Marpool), Mrs Y Short (Newton Abbot, Bearnes) (Substitute Member: Mrs P Furnival (Ivybridge, Woodlands Park)).

Secondary School Headteachers (5)

Mr D Chapman (Okehampton CC), Mr D Fitzsimmons (Holsworthy CC), Mr A Lovett (Tiverton High School), Mr D Sherratt (Braunton CC) (Substitute:).

Secondary Academy Member: Mr V Game (Teign School) (Academy Secondary Substitute Member).

Secondary School Governors (5)

Mr M Canham (Barnstaple The Park School), Mr I Courtney (Okehampton College), Mrs C Williams (Coombeshead CC), Dr C Woodhouse (The Axe Valley CC) (Substitute: Mrs M Govier).

Secondary Academy Member: Commander M Bamborough (Gt Torrington School) (Substitute Secondary Academy Member: Miss J Elson, Exmouth Community College).

Special School Headteacher (2)

Mrs J Warne (Ellen Tinkham) and Mr M Dean (Bidwell Brook)

Special School Governor

Mrs F Butler (Marland School)

Nursery School (Headteacher or Governor)

Mrs S Baker

Non-Schools Members (1 from each of the following, unless otherwise specified)

Exeter Diocesan Board of Education

Mr P Mantell

Teachers Consultative Committee

Mr M Gurney

Officer with Responsibility for Vulnerable Children

Ms D Booth

Early Years, Private, Voluntary and Independent providers (2)

Ms E Lincoln and vacancy

<u>14-19</u>

14-19 SLG: Mr J Peart (Substitute: Ms J Foster)

Formal Observers (Non-voting)

Devon County Council

Councillor C Channon (Cabinet Member - Schools & Learning);

Councillor V Newcombe (Chairman - People's Scrutiny Committee);

Councillor A Davis (Cabinet Member - Children's Services)