

Phil Norrey Chief Executive

To: The Chairman and Members of the

**Devon Education Forum** 

County Hall Topsham Road Exeter Devon EX2 4QD

(See below)

Your ref: My ref: Date: Please ask for: 4 May 2011 Mrs F Rutley Phone: 01392 382305 Fax: 01392 382286 e-mail: schools.forum@devon.gov.uk

# **DEVON EDUCATION FORUM**

Wednesday 11 May 2011

A meeting of the Devon Education Forum will be held on the above date at **2pm at County Hall**, **Exeter** to consider the following matters.

P NORREY CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Please note later start time of 2pm
This will be preceded by a light buffet lunch at 1.30pm.
It would be helpful if members were to confirm their attendance

# AGENDA

# PART I - OPEN COMMITTEE

- 1. Apologies
- 2. <u>Minutes</u> of the meeting held on 23 March 2011 attached (Page 1).
- 3. <u>Items Requiring Urgent Attention</u>

Items which in the opinion of the Chairman should be considered at the meeting as matters of urgency.

4. Membership

Mr Andrew Lovett (DASH, Tiverton High School) has replaced Ms Faith Jarrett. Mrs Amanda Blewett (DAG Primary substitute) is now a full member replacing Ms Jo Frith.

# 5. Matters Arising from the Last Meeting and Report back on Issues Raised with Cabinet

To consider any matters arising from the last meeting where not otherwise covered on this agenda and to report on items considered at the Cabinet.

#### 2.15pm

#### 6. Director's Update

Director for Learning & Schools to report.

# A: SPECIFIC AGENDA ITEMS

#### ITEMS FOR DECISION

#### 2.30pm

#### 7. <u>Finance Update</u>

Report of Executive Director of Children and Young People's Services (DEF/11/11) attached (Page 11).

#### ITEMS FOR DEBATE AND INFORMATION

#### 3.10pm

# 8. Devon Catering and Cleaning Service Update

Executive Director of Children and Young People's Services to report.

# B: STANDARD AGENDA ITEMS

# ITEMS FOR DEBATE AND INFORMATION

#### 3.25pm

#### 9. <u>Safeguarding in Devon Schools Report: Update</u>

Report of the Executive Director of Children and Young People's Services (DEF/11/12) attached (Page 74).

# 3.35pm B R E A K

### 3.55pm

#### 10. Performance of Schools by Key Stages F-KS5

Executive Director of Children and Young People's Services to report. Booklet enclosed.

# 4.10pm

### 11. Standing (and other) Groups

- (a) To review action for the Forum from its groups and to receive minutes:-
  - (i) School Finance Group

Minutes of the meetings held on 28 April 2011 TO FOLLOW.

# (ii) Forum for Learning and Achievement

Director for Learning & Schools to report on any urgent items from the meeting held on held on 4 May 2011.

# (iii) School Organisation Forum

Executive Director of Children and Young People's Services to report on any urgent items from the meeting held on held on 4 May 2011.

# (iv) Commissioning Board

no meeting.

#### (b) Representations and progress from various standing and task & finish groups

Executive Director of Children and Young People's Services to report on any urgent items from the Constitutional task & finish group meeting held on held on 4 May 2011.

#### (c) Minutes for information

#### (i) 14-19 Strategic Leadership Group

nil.

#### (ii) Local Admissions Forum

Minutes of the meeting on 17 March 2011, attached (Page 91).

Please see minute 79 (Inclusion – "that Academies be invited through the Devon Education Forum to make data available regarding in year admissions")

#### 12. Correspondence

#### 13. Dates of Future Meetings

To note the Forum's calendar of meetings as previously agreed.

All meetings to commence at 1pm at County Hall, Exeter (unless otherwise indicated):-

Wed 29 June 2011
Wed 28 September 2011
Fri 4 November 2011 (conference) for members only, all day, venue to be confirmed Wed 7 December 2011
Wed 18 January 2012
Wed 21 March 2012
Wed 16 May 2012

4.30pm CLOSE

#### **VOTING**

# FAILED AMENDMENTS AND VOTING FIGURES MAY BE RECORDED WHERE REQUESTED BY AN ASSOCIATION OR SINGLE MEMBER REPRESENTATIVE (for contentious issues)

# VOTING REPRESENTATIVES ARE SCHOOLS AND NON-SCHOOLS MEMBERS (FORMAL OBSERVERS AND ANY SUBSTITUTE MEMBER ATTENDING IN ADDITION TO THEIR RESPECTIVE FULL MEMBER ARE EXEMPT FROM VOTING)

#### MEMBERS ARE REQUESTED TO SIGN THE ATTENDANCE REGISTER

The Devon Education Forum web is <a href="www.devon.gov.uk/schoolsforum">www.devon.gov.uk/schoolsforum</a>

#### Membership

#### **Schools Members**

Primary School Headteachers (6)

Mrs J Baker (Barnstaple, Orchard Vale), Mr M Boxall (Exeter, Montgomery),

Mrs H Nicholls (South Brent), Ms A Ladbrook (East Worlington), Mr P Walker (Sidmouth, St Nicholas), Mrs L Walls (Lydford)

(Sidmouth, St Nicholas), Mrs L Wells (Lydford).

(Substitutes: Mr G Chown (Tiverton, Wilcombe), Mr J Galling (Exmouth, Brixington),

Mr P Jones OBE (Blackpool)).

#### Primary School Governors (6)

Mrs P Barnard (Sandford), Mrs Amanda Blewett (Kings Nympton), Mr R Butler (Axminster), Mr M Dobbins (Exmouth, Marpool), Mrs Y Short (Newton Abbot, Bearnes) Mr D Tall (Meavy); (Substitute: vacancy).

#### Secondary School Headteachers (6)

Mr D Chapman (Okehampton CC), Mr D Fitzsimmons (Holsworthy CC),

Mr V Game (Teign School), Mr A Lovett (Tiverton Hiogh School),

Mr D Sherratt (Braunton CC), Ms M Street (Isca)

(Substitute:vacancy).

#### Secondary School Governors (6)

Commander M Bamborough (Gt Torrington CC), Mr M Canham (Barnstaple The Park School),

Mr I Courtney (Okehampton College), Mr D Paterson (Newton Abbot, College),

Mrs C Williams (Coombeshead CC), Dr C Woodhouse (The Axe Valley CC)

(Substitute: Mrs M Govier).

#### Special School Headteacher (1)

Mr K Bennett (Marland) (Substitute: Ms J Warne)

#### Special School Governor (1)

Mrs F Butler (Marland School)

# Nursery School (1) (Headteacher or Governor)

Mrs S Baker

# **Academies Members**

Mrs L Heath

# Non-Schools Members (1 from each of the following, unless otherwise specified)

Exeter Diocesan Board of Education

Ms A Sheldrake

Roman Catholic Diocese

Ms T Blyth

**Teachers Consultative Committee** 

Mr M Gurney

Devon Youth Network

Mrs R Henderson

Officer with Responsibility for Vulnerable Children

Ms D Booth

TRIO (Early Years, Private, Voluntary and Independent providers)(2)

Ms M Hocking and Ms E Lincoln

14-19

14-19 SLG: Mr J Peart (Substitute: Ms J Foster)

#### Formal Observers (6) (Non-voting)

**Devon County Council** 

Councillor C Channon (Cabinet Member - Schools & Skills)

Councillor V Newcombe (Chairman - CYPS Scrutiny Committee);

Councillor A Davis (Cabinet Member - Children's Health & Wellbeing)

CYPS Early Years and Child Care Service

Mrs F Butler

Joint Consultative Committee (CYPS Directorate) Mr S Ryles (Substitute: Ms L French)