Outside body

Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue Authority


The Devon & Somerset Fire & Rescue Authority (the Authority) is the independent body which ensures that the local fire and rescue service performs efficiently and in the best interests of the public and community it serves. This means that the fire and rescue service is answerable for its actions and performance to the general public.


One of the Authority's main functions is to collect funding from each local council via a precept. This is the portion of Council Tax allocated to this fire and rescue service.

The Authority is made up of 24 elected councillors, all of whom are appointed by our four constituent authorities. The Authority has core functions which are set down in the Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004

Contact information

Location: Service Headquarters, The Knowle, Clyst St George, Exeter, EX3 0NW

Email: comments@dsfire.gov.uk
01392 872200

Website: http://dsfire.gov.uk/index.cfm?siteCategoryId=1

Devon County Council is not responsible for the content of any external link

Our representatives