## **Locality Budget Annual Report 2016/17**

Joint Report of the County Treasurer, and Chief Officer for Communities, Public Health, Environment & Prosperity

#### 1. Introduction

In line with the Council's 'Locality Budget Operating Principles' an annual statement which summarises the allocations approved by Members is submitted to this Committee for audit and monitoring purposes.

Each Member of the County Council was allocated a budget of £10,000 for 2016/17 to use to respond to local needs by giving grants in accordance with operating principle in Part 3 of Section 5 of the Constitution.

The locality budget process enables Members to give grants which respond to local needs within electoral divisions by supporting projects or activities that benefit the people and communities they represent. The scheme, together with the joint Town and Parish Fund, is a key element of the Council's 'Better Together' commitment to community resilience.

### 2. Locality Budget Statement of 2016/17

This Statement has been prepared for audit and monitoring purposes and summaries allocations in 2016/17 by each of the 62 Councillors.

For each Member, Appendix 1 to this report details:

- Total Locality Budget for 2016/17
- Total Locality Budget allocations made in 2016/17.

The Committee may wish to note the following:

### Carry Forward from 2015/16

• A total of £304,896 of Locality Budget funding was carried forward from 2015/16 to 2016/17.

#### **Total Locality Budget for 2016/17**

The total Locality Budget available for 2016/17 was £924,896.

#### **Total Locality Budget expenditure in 2016/17**

• £890,877 was allocated from the total Locality Budget of which £860,848 was spent in 2016/17.

An analysis of 2016/17 Locality Budget allocations by project type shows the following:

Type of project	Total allocation	
Culture	£89,331	
Economy	£85,571	
Events	£150,703	
Facilities	£485,423	
Highways	£59,859	
Other	£19,990	
Total	£890,877	

**Culture** includes: Sport, leisure, arts, heritage, culture e.g. allotments, theatre, play, music. **Economy** includes: Local economy, employment and welfare e.g. community shops, food banks, homelessness, youth clubs and libraries.

**Events** includes: Community events and seasonal celebrations, trips, visits, commemorations, memorial events.

Facilities includes: village hall/community facility improvements.

**Highways i**ncludes: grit bins, signs, safety improvements, bridges, traffic regulation orders, rights of way, weed treatment/clearance.

Mary Davis County Treasurer

Dr Virginia Pearson Chief Officer for Communities, Public Health, Environment & Prosperity

**Electoral Divisions: All** 

Cabinet Member for Policy and Corporate: Councillor John Hart Cabinet Member for Community, Public Health, Transportation and Environmental Services: Councillor Roger Croad

Local Government Act 1972: List of Background Papers

Contact for enquiries: Steven Edwards

Room No. G60, County Hall, Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4QD

Tel No: (01392) 383000

Background Paper Date File Reference

Nil

se130617cirs Locality Budget Annual Report 201617 hk 03 140617

# Appendix 1 To SC/17/2

Electoral Division	Member	Total Locality	Total Locality
	I III III III III III III III III III	Budget for	Allocations for
		2016/17 (£)	2016/17 (£)
Div 01 - Axminster	Andrew Moulding	15,546	15,442
Div 02 - Broadclyst & Whimple	Peter Bowden	10,040	10,040
Div 03 - Budleigh	<b>Christine Channon</b>	15,188	15,188
Div 04 - Exmouth, Brixington &	John Hone	21,433	20,491
Withycombe			
Div 05 - Exmouth Halsdon & Woodbury	Bernard Hughes	11,605	10,082
Div 06 - Exmouth Littleham & Town	Eileen Wragg	13,447	12,883
Div 07 - Honiton St Michael's	Sara Randall-	13,426	13,176
D: 00 II " 01 D "	Johnson	10.770	10.770
Div 08 - Honiton St Paul's	Paul Diviani	13,773	13,773
Div 09 - Ottery St Mary	Claire Wright	15,735	11,593
Div 10 - Seaton Coastal	Jim Knight	18,788	18,345
Div 11 - Sidmouth & Sidford	Stuart Hughes	13,282	12,800
Div 12 - Alphington	Roy Hill	13,790	13,790
Div 13 - Duryard & Pennsylvania	Percy Prowse	17,021	17,021
Div 14 - Exwick & St Thomas	Rob Hannaford	13,274	12,974
Div 15 - Heavitree & Whipton Barton	Olwen Foggin	12,050	12,050
Div 16 - Newton & Posloe	Richard Westlake	16,626	16,626
Div 17 - Pinhoe & Mincinglake	Emma Morse	17,493	17,493
Div 18 - Priory & St Leonards Div 19 - St David's & St James	Andy Hannan Jill Owen	13,502 15,291	13,502
	Andrew Leadbetter	25,916	15,291 25,916
Div 20 - St Loyes & Topsham  Div 21 - Crediton Rural	Nick Way	16,219	16,219
Div 22 - Cullompton Rural	John Berry	10,162	10,160
Div 23 - Newton St Cyres & Sandford	Margaret Squires	16,597	16,597
Div 24 - Tiverton East	Des Hannon	10,416	10,416
Div 25 - Tiverton West	Polly Colthorpe	10,360	10,360
Div 26 - Willand & Uffculme	Ray Radford	22,855	22,855
Div 27 - Barnstaple North	Brian Greenslade	19,474	16,339
Div 28 - Barnstaple South	John Mathews	13,376	6,698
Div 29 - Braunton Rural	Caroline Chugg	17,889	16,957
Div 30 - Chumleigh & Swimbridge	Richard Edgell	10,000	10,000
Div 31 - Combe Martin Rural	Andrea Davis	25,910	25,910
Div 32 - Fremington Rural	Frank Biederman	15,762	15,762
Div 33 - Ilfracombe	Mike Edmunds	11,135	11,135
Div 34 - South Molton Rural	Jeremy Yabsley	22,764	22,764
Div 35 - Bickleigh & Wembury	John Hart	17,707	17,707
Div 36 - Dartmouth & Kingswear	Jonathan Hawkins	10,500	10,500
Div 37 - Ivybridge	Roger Croad	15,959	15,955
Div 38 - Kingsbridge & Stokenham	Julian Brazil	11,823	11,765
Div 39 - South Brent & Dartington	Rosemary Rowe	14,729	14,729
Div 40 - Thurlstone, Salcombe &	Rufus Gilbert	9,119	9,119
Allington			
Div 41 - Totnes Rural	Robert Vint	18,390	17,994

Electoral Division	Member	Total Locality	Total Locality
		Budget for	Allocations for
		2016/17 (£)	2016/17 (£)
Div 42 - Yealmpton	Richard Hosking	23,957	23,957
Div 43 - Ashburton & Buckfastleigh	Stuart Barker	22,566	22,566
Div 44 - Bovey Tracey Rural	George Gribble	15,704	15,704
Div 45 - Chudleigh Rural	Jerry Brook	17,263	17,263
Div 46 - Dawlish	John Clatworthy	10,014	10,014
Div 47 - Exminster & Kenton	Alan Connett	13,201	13,201
Div 48 - Kingsteignton	Tony Dempster	10,961	10,961
Div 49 - Newton Abbot North	Eve Louise Barisic	14,425	14,400
Div 50 - Newton Abbot South	Gordon Hook	14,663	14,663
Div 51 - Teignbridge South	Alistair Dewhirst	10,000	10,000
Div 52 - Teignmouth Town	Richard Younger-	11,501	11,501
	Ross		
Div 53 - Teign Estuary	Chris Clarance	13,513	13,013
Div 54 - Bideford East	Gaston Dezart	13,000	13,000
Div 55 - Bideford South & Hartland	Robin Julian	10,850	10,589
Div 56 - Holsworthy Rural	Barry Parsons	13,023	11,945
Div 57 - Northam	Andrew Eastman	13,872	13,800
Div 58 - Torrington Rural	Andy Boyd	10,000	6,515
Div 59 - Hatherleigh & Chagford	James McInnes	10,553	10,553
Div 60 - Okehampton Rural	Kevin Ball	11,822	11,822
Div 61- Tavistock	Debo Sellis	10,811	10,393
Div 62 - Yelverton Rural	Philip Sanders	24,825	16,600