# Joint Report of the County Treasurer & Head of Services for Communities

# Locality Budget 2015/16

## 1. Introduction

In line with the Council's "Locality Budgets Operating Principles" an annual statement which summarises the allocations approved by Members is submitted to this Committee for audit and monitoring purposes.

Each Member of the County Council was allocated a budget of £10,000 for 2015/16 to use to respond to local needs by giving grants in accordance with the operating principles in Part 3 of Section 5 of the Constitution.

The locality budget process enables Members to give grants which respond to local needs within electoral divisions by supporting projects or activities that benefit the people and communities they represent. The scheme, together with the joint Town and Parish Fund, is a key element of the Council's "Better Together" commitment to community resilience.

# 2. Locality Budget Statement for 2015/16

This Statement has been prepared for audit and monitoring purposes and summarises expenditure in 2015/16 by each of the 62 Councillors.

For each Member, Appendix 1 to this report details:

- Total locality budget for 2015/16;
- Total locality budget payments made in 2015/16; and
- Amount carried forward to 2016/17

The Committee may wish to note the following:

#### Carry forward from 2014/15

• A total of £211,323.68 of locality budget funding was carried forward from 2014/15 to 2015/16.

#### Total locality budget for 2015/16

• The total locality budget available for 2015/16 was £831,323.68.

#### Total locality budget expenditure in 2015/16

• The total locality budget spent in 2015/16 was £517,862.22.

## Carry forward to 2016/17

• A total of £313,461.46 was carried forward into the current financial year (2016/17).

An analysis of 2015/16 locality budget expenditure by project type shows the following expenditure during 2015/16:

Type of project	Total for spend
Culture	£63,055.09
Economy	£62,607.06
Events	£66,014.46
Facilities	£260,705.09
Highways	£47,585.27
Other	£17,895
Total	£517,862.22

**Highway improvements** include: grit bins, signs, safety improvements, bridges, traffic regulation orders rights of way, weed treatment/clearance.

**Community events** and celebrations include: seasonal celebrations, trips, visits, commemorations, memorial events.

**Community facilities** include: village hall/community facility improvements.

**Sport, leisure, arts, heritage and culture** includes: allotments, theatre, play, music.

**Local economy, employment and welfare** includes: community shops, food banks, homelessness, youth clubs and libraries.

Mary Davis County Treasurer

John Smith Head of Services for Communities

Electoral Divisions: All

Local Government Act 1972: List of Background Papers Contact for enquiries: Roland Pyle Room No: Room G60, County Hall, Exeter, Devon, EX2 4QD Tel No: 01392 38 3000 Date File Ref. Background Paper None

# Appendix 1

Electoral division	Member	Total Locality budget for 2015/16 (£)	Locality budget payments in 2015/16 (£)	Carried forward to 16/17( £)
Div 01 - Axminster	Andrew Moulding	14,780.82	9,235.00	5,546.00
Div 02 - Broadclyst & Whimple	Peter Bowden	10,000.00	9,960.00	40.00
Div 03 - Budleigh	Christine Channon	10,292.00	5,104.00	5,188.00
Div 04 - Exmouth, Brixington & Withycombe	John Hone	12,494.50	1,061.67	11,433.00
Div 05 - Exmouth Halsdon & Woodbury	Bernard Hughes	16,131.37	14,526.03	1,605.00
Div 06 - Exmouth Littleham & Town	Eileen Wragg	10,611.80	7,164.57	3,447.00
Div 07 - Honiton St Michael's	Sara Randall-Johnson	10,342.77	6,917.20	3,426.00
Div 08 - Honiton St Paul's	Paul Diviani	14,207.75	10,435.00	3,773.00
Div 09 - Ottery St Mary	Claire Wright	12,567.61	6,832.62	5,735.00
Div 10 - Seaton Coastal	Jim Knight	14,389.35	5,601.70	8,788.00
Div 11 - Sidmouth & Sidford	Stuart Hughes	13,722.25	10,440.00	3,282.00
Div 12 - Alphington	Roy Hill	16,115.75	12,325.75	3,790.00
Div 13 - Duryard & Pennsylvania	Percy Prowse	13,370.86	6,350.00	7,021.00
Div 14 - Exwick & St Thomas	Rob Hannaford	19,273.52	16,000.00	3,274.00
Div 15 - Heavitree & Whipton Barton	Olwen Foggin	10,787.53	8,737.53	2,050.00
Div 16 - Newton & Posloe	Richard Westlake	13,413.42	6,787.60	6,626.00
Div 17 - Pinhoe & Mincinglake	Emma Morse	12,847.75	5,355.00	7,493.00
Div 18 - Priory & St Leonards	Andy Hannan	11,464.52	7,962.25	3,502.00
Div 19 - St David's & St James	Jill Owen	11,326.75	6,036.22	5,291.00
Div 20 - St Loyes & Topsham	Andrew Leadbetter	20,565.75	4,650.00	15,916.00
Div 21 - Crediton Rural	Nick Way	13,393.12	7,174.00	6,219.00
Div 22 - Cullompton Rural	John Berry	10,000.00	9,837.78	162.00
Div 23 - Newton St Cyres & Sandford	Margaret Squires	13,725.00	7,128.08	6,597.00
Div 24 - Tiverton East	Des Hannon	10,436.47	10,020.22	416.00
Div 25 - Tiverton West	Polly Colthorpe	10,109.80	9,750.00	360.00
Div 26 - Willand & Uffculme	Ray Radford	18,990.00	6,135.00	12,855.00
Div 27 - Barnstaple North	Brian Greenslade	20,850.00	10,806.26	9,474.34
Div 28 - Barnstaple South	John Matthews	18,570.00	10,194.49	3,376.00
Div 29 - Braunton Rural	Caroline Chugg	14,935.00	7,046.10	7,889.00
Div 30 - Chumleigh & Swimbridge	Richard Edgell	22,737.00	22,237.00	-
Div 31 - Combe Martin Rural	Andrea Davis	18,944.17	2,533.90	15,910.00
Div 32 - Fremington Rural	Frank Biederman	14,063.99	7,801.96	5,762.00
Div 33 - Ilfracombe	Mike Edmunds	10,582.00	8,946.72	1,135.00
Div 34 - South Molton Rural	Jeremy Yabsley	13,264.00	500.00	12,764.00
Div 35 - Bickleigh & Wembury	John Hart	16,304.05	8,596.56	7,707.00
Div 36 - Dartmouth & Kingswear	Jonathan Hawkins	10,955.40	10,455.40	500.00

Div 37 - Ivybridge	Roger Croad	17,926.80	11,967.99	5,959.00
Div 38 - Kingsbridge & Stokenham	Julian Brazil	10,063.67	8,241.07	1,823.00
Div 39 - South Brent & Dartington	Rosemary Rowe	10,428.54	5,700.00	4,729.00
Div 40 - Thurlstone, Salcombe & Allington	Rufus Gilbert	10,039.67	10,921.03	(-881.00)
Div 41 - Totnes Rural	Robert Vint	10,000.00	1,610.39	8,390.00
Div 42 - Yealmpton	Richard Hosking	21,707.43	7,750.00	13,957.00
Div 43 - Ashburton & Buckfastleigh	Stuart Barker	17,066.15	4,500.00	12,566.00
Div 44 - Bovey Tracey Rural	George Gribble	10,636.65	4,932.50	5,704.00
Div 45 - Chudleigh Rural	Jerry Brook	17,813.00	10,550.00	7,263.00
Div 46 - Dawlish	John Clatworthy	12,199.46	12,185.39	14.00
Div 47 - Exminster & Kenton	Alan Connett	12,338.84	9,137.73	3,201.00
Div 48 - Kingsteignton	Tony Dempster	12,229.00	11,268.00	961.00
Div 49 - Newton Abbot North	Eve Louise Barisic	10,425.00	6,000.00	4,425.00
Div 50 - Newton Abbot South	Gordon Hook	11,038.00	6,375.00	4,663.00
Div 51 - Teignbridge South	Alistair Dewhirst	11,950.00	11,949.99	-
Div 52 - Teignmouth Town	Richard Younger-Ross	10,000.60	8,500.00	1,501.00
Div 53 - Teign Estuary	Chris Clarance	11,625.00	8,111.60	3,513.00
Div 54 - Bideford East	Gaston Dezart	10,000.00	7,000.00	3,000.00
Div 55 - Bideford South & Hartland	Robin Julian	10,000.00	9,150.00	850.00
Div 56 - Holsworthy Rural	Barry Parsons	14,218.50	11,195.86	3,023.00
Div 57 - Northam	Andrew Eastman	13,191.65	8,820.00	3,872.00
Div 58 - Torrington Rural	Andy Boyd	10,000.00	9,500.00	-
Div 59 - Hatherleigh & Chagford	James McInnes	10,045.00	9,492.50	553.00
Div 60 - Okehampton Rural	Kevin Ball	12,078.32	10,256.70	1,822.00
Div 61- Tavistock	Debo Sellis	10,778.23	9,967.62	811.00
Div 62 - Yelverton Rural	Philip Sanders	16,958.10	2,133.24	14,825.00